AWAA Post Adoption Support Group:  Trauma & Loss in Adoption
August 30, 2016

AW Support Group FB

We invite you to join us in September for our discussion, "Trauma & Loss in Adoption"!

Date & Time:

Thursday, September 29, 2016

8-9:30 PM Eastern

7-8:30 PM Central

6-7:30 PM Mountain

5-6:30 PM Pacific

TOPIC: Trauma and Loss in Adoption

This month we will be joined by Kim Cunningham, LBSW, who is our Director of Social Services for our Texas office. Adoption is full of gains and losses for both the adoptive parents and the adoptive child. It’s important for adoptive parents to recognize and empathize with the amount and kinds of loss their child has endured in the past and may be struggling with now at home with you. Kim will discuss the many types of trauma and loss that have been experienced by children coming into adoptive families, as well as the tools needed for your family to effectively respond to these issues.

If you would like to participate in this month’s group, please RSVP to Yasmin.Thornton@awaa.org before the event.

If you have specific questions that you would like to share during this discussion, please let Yasmin know when you RSVP. Call info will be given to those who RSVP.

In order to protect the confidentiality of all participants, the post adoption support group is not recorded.

Hope that you can make it!

 

awaa.org

 

Email Updates
   
Prev All Next