America World June Support Group:  “Self-Care”
May 24, 2016

AW Support Group FB
We hope that you will join us in June for our on-going Support Group. Save the date and be sure to attend!

DATE & TIME:  Thursday, June 23, 2016

    8:00 - 9:30 PM Eastern
    7:00 - 8:30 PM Central
    6:00 - 7:30 PM Mountain
    5:00 - 6:30 PM Pacific

TOPIC: Self-Care - Why is it important? How do we tangibly say yes to it?

Self-Care is probably one of those topics that is most ignored, not just by adoptive families but by all moms and dads who naturally put the needs of their children above their own. We somehow coerce ourselves into believing that this type of philosophy is healthy 100% of the time. However, in the long run, it’s not what is best for us or our family.

As adoptive parents, God has called you to a unique mission that not everyone can do and not everyone understands. Just as Christ had to separate himself from His disciples and the crowds at times in His ministry, we also must take time to recharge and restore ourselves in order to properly care for our families in the ways we so desire. It can be a real challenge, but it’s so important and beneficial to your marriage and everyone in your family that you get rest; even more important than checking off items of a list each day.

If you have not yet brought your child home, this will be a great opportunity for you to plan ahead on how you hope to keep self-care alive in your family when your child comes home. If you have come home or been home for some time, this will be a great refresher course on what you can do to implement the importance of self-care in your family now.

If you would like to participate in this month’s group, please RSVP to Yasmin.Thornton@awaa.org before the event.

If you have specific questions that you would like to share during this discussion, please let me know when you RSVP. Call info will be given to those who RSVP.


In order to protect the confidentiality of all participants, the post adoption support group is not recorded.



www.awaa.org

 

Email Updates
   
Prev All Next