America World February Support Group Topic:  Oral Aversion
January 8, 2016

AW Support Group FB
Please read the following for information on the America World Support Group meeting for February 2016!

 

TOPIC:
Oral Aversion

DATE:

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

TIME:
8:00-9:00 PM Eastern
7:00-8:00 PM Central
6:00-7:00 PM Mountain
5:00-6:00 PM Pacific

 

We will be joined by two AWAA adoptive moms who have been responding to their own adopted children’s struggle with oral aversion.

Erica Groblewski adopted her daughter, Eva, from China in March 2015. Eva was not introduced to solids or swallowing in her orphanage.  Erica and her husband had to quickly adjust and improvise as they learned of her need while in country.

Maria Matthias also adopted from China. Her son, Thomas, came home in 2011 afraid to watch others eat and unable to lick or have anything come to his mouth except a bottle. She admits that though he can eat more normally now, there are moments he would still rather be hungry than go through the process of eating.

If you have a referral of a child who may struggle with this issue, or are currently dealing with this in your own family, this support group will be a great opportunity to connect with other AWAA moms who understand this medical need and have learned how to navigate this unfamiliar territory. We will discuss what oral aversion is, how it is caused, and how it can be treated as well as share how to survive the challenges this need can bring to a family.

If you would like to participate in this month’s group, please RSVP to Yasmin.Thornton@awaa.org before the event. Call info will be given to those who RSVP.

In order to protect the confidentiality of all participants, the post adoption support group is not recorded.

Hope that you can make it!

 

 

Email Updates
   
Prev All Next