Adoptive Families Webinar: “Growing Up as a Transracial Adoptee - What Parents Need to Know”
April 27, 2016

AF
If you adopted your child transracially, what does she experience growing up? How should you be talking about race and racism, birth culture, and differences in your family to instill a positive racial identity? How should you discuss teasing he may face at school, as well as societal attitudes and events in the news to help your child navigate a world that is far from colorblind, now and as an adult?

In this webinar, social worker and adult adoptee Deborah H. Johnson will discuss transracial parenting from a professional and personal perspective. Join us for this presentation and a chance to ask your questions.

The Expert Q&A Webinar with Deborah H. Johnson: "Growing Up as a Transracial Adoptee: What Parents Need to Know" will take place on Thursday, May 19, 2016 from 1pm to 2pm ET (12pm-1pm CT; 11am-12pm MT; 10am-11am PT).

 

REGISTER HERE

 


Deborah H. Johnson is a Minneapolis-based social worker with more than 25 years of experience working with adoptive families. She is the founder of Kindred Journeys International, a heritage travel company and a longtime columnist for Adoptive Families magazine. She was adopted from South Korea.


 

www.awaa.org

 

 

Email Updates
   
Prev All Next